Welcome, Guest  |  Login    Register

Dow Chemical and GE CEO Among Top Winners At Manufacturing Leadership Awards Celebration

Posted By Jeff Moad, June 05, 2015 at 10:32 AM, in Category: The Innovation Enterprise

CARLSBAD, Calif—June 5, 2014— At the 11th annual Manufacturing Leadership (ML) Awards ceremony, produced by the Manufacturing Leadership Community, part of Frost & Sullivan, standout companies and individuals received top honors for their breakthrough achievements.

The program’s distinguished panel of expert judges selected General Electric Chairman and CEO Jeffrey R. Immelt as the Manufacturing Leader of the Year. Immelt was recognized for his tireless advocacy of the manufacturing industry, his determination to return GE to its manufacturing roots, and his positioning of GE as a manufacturing innovation and technology leader.

“It’s really a great award, and I receive it on behalf of all of our great teams at GE,” said Immelt in a recorded message presented at the ML Awards Gala. “I’ve been with the company for decades, and I’ve been CEO for more than a decade, and I can’t remember a time when manufacturing has been more at the core of everything we do.” Immelt added, “It really is a great era for manufacturing professionals and where industry is heading. So, thank you again for this award.”

Dow Chemical was selected as Manufacturer of the Year, Large Enterprise, for its focus on developing the next-generation of manufacturing leaders while also driving step-change improvements in operational performance. Also recognized was Proto Labs, Inc. as the Manufacturer of the Year, Small Enterprise, for creating a bridge between the maker community and the industrial world and accelerating innovation through its Cool Idea! program.

James E. Harbour, an automotive industry visionary, of Harbour and Associates, received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his forward-looking efforts in the 1980s and 1990s to open the eyes of complacent U.S. car makers to the urgent competitive challenges they faced.  Harbour’s foresight lead them to accept the operational efficiencies they needed to survive. This award was presented by John Fleming, Executive Vice President, Global Manufacturing and Labor Affairs, Ford Motor Company, and a member of the Manufacturing Leadership Council’s Board of Governors. Members of his family accepted the award on behalf of Harbour, who died in September 2014.

10 winners of ML High Achiever Awards were also announced. The High Achiever Awards are presented to a select group of ML Award-winning projects. High Achievers are those ML Award winners that received the most votes from the judges in each of the 10 ML Award project categories. Winners of the High Achiever Awards were:

  • Bristol-Myers Squibb Company in the Big Data & Advanced Analytics Category for its Real World Data Commons Project;
  • Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. in the Customer Value Leadership Category for its New Dealer Daily System Project;
  • Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company in the Engineering and Production Technology Leadership Category Optical Projection Of Fastener Installation Data Project;
  • CommScope, Inc. in the Enterprise Technology Leadership Category for its PM Mobile Project;
  • General Electric Global Research in the Innovation Process Category for its Digital Manufacturing Commons Project;
  • Merck & Co., Inc. in the New Product Leadership Category for its Rapid Commercialization and FDA Approval of KEYTRUDA® Initiative;
  • Meritage Global Services, Inc. in the Next-Generation Leadership Category for its Pump Up the Volume Project;
  • MBX Systems in the Operational Excellence Category for its Super Cell Initiative;
  • C&S Wholesale Grocers, Inc. in the Supply Chain Leadership Category for its Lights-Out Automated Distribution Center Project;
  • The Campbell Soup Company in the Sustainability Leadership Category for its Napoleon Sustainability Program.

“The ML Awards’ top winners in 2015 set themselves apart through their willingness to innovate, take risks and push the limits of what is possible in the manufacturing industry,” said Global Vice President & Editorial Director, Manufacturing Leadership Community David R. Brousell,. “They are leading the industry into a brighter future, and I congratulate them.”

Winners of the ML Technology Partner Awards were also recognized at the award ceremony. These technology providers played key roles in enabling ML Award winners to achieve outstanding performance. Winners of the Technology Partner Award were: 

  • E2open, Inc.
  • Epicor Software
  • Infosys Ltd
  • Insite Software
  • Integration Objects
  • IQMS, Inc
  • Louisiana Economic Development
  • Paper-Less LLC
  • Synchrono, Inc
  • Syspro

Nominations for the 2016 Manufacturing Leadership Summit will open in August 2015 at http://mlawards.gilcommunity.com/

Above: General Electric Chairman and CEO Jeffrey R. Immelt Accepts the Manufacturing Leader of the Year Award

Written by Jeff Moad

Jeff Moad is Research Director and Executive Editor with the Manufacturing Leadership Community. He also directs the Manufacturing Leadership Awards Program. Follow our LinkedIn Groups: Manufacturing Leadership Council and Manufacturing Leadership Summit

Add Pingback


You must be logged in to leave a reply. Login »